Give me a minute to Groove


I don’t know why but I am feeling hella nostalgic today. For some reason, the tune of “It never rains,” by 90’s R&B group Tony! Toni! Tone!,  popped into my head. Which of course got me jamming to some of my other favorite Raphael Saadiq songs.

So please folks, allow me a minute to groove. 

 

 

 

This is my favorite song from, Lucy Pearl, the short-lived collaboration between Rapheal Saadiq, Dawn Robinson (of EnVogue) and Ali Shaheed Muhammed (of A tribe Called Quest). 

 

 

Here is his latest, entitled “Good Man.” And surprise surprise, the lead girl  in the video is “America’s Next Top Model” veteran/actress/dancer and naturally curly girl, YaYa DaCosta. I love the retro vinyl Motown sound of this album. 

Unfortunately, I can’t post the official music video. But at least you can hear the song. Thanks VEVO! 😦

If you want to see the official video, click here (YaYa was amazing!). The girl was bringing Lynne Whitfield a’la “A Thin Line between Love and Hate,” no?

 

Leave a Reply

